Gaijin Residents

Research tool only — not legal advice. Information may be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with the responsible office before acting. Full disclaimer · Report an error

Adachi CityEducation

Adachi City University & Mock Exam Fee Subsidy

大学等受験料・模擬試験料助成

In short: Up to ¥53,000 for university entrance exam fees and ¥8,000 for mock exams (¥6,000 mock exams for junior-high 3rd years) for low-income families.Adachi resident supporting a child under 20, and the household: receives child-rearing allowance; or is resident-tax exempt (incl. public assistance); or is a single-parent/grandparent household at an equivalent income.(Source: www.city.adachi.tokyo.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)

Validity: FY2026. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.city.adachi.tokyo.jp/seiho-sidou/daigakujyuken-moshi.html

Who qualifies

  • Adachi resident supporting a child under 20, and the household: receives child-rearing allowance; or is resident-tax exempt (incl. public assistance); or is a single-parent/grandparent household at an equivalent income. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
  • Child: under 20 and sat university-level exams (or 3rd-year junior-high student for the high-school mock-exam part). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Conditions by topic

AgeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Income

Child-rearing allowance or resident-tax exempt or equivalent. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

HouseholdNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Child age

Child under 20 (or junior-high 3rd year). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Residence in JapanNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in Tokyo / municipality

Registered as a resident of Adachi City (see page for timing). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Work / insurance typeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
DisabilityNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.

Residence status

Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.

Residence status is not stated on the official page — ask the office.

Where to apply

  • Online (recommended) or by post to the Children's Learning & Life Support Section, tel 03-3880-5706. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Find addresses in the office finder.

Deadlines

  • FY2026 applications: 1 Apr 2026 – 31 Mar 2027. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Documents

Not yet verified from an official source.

Key details

  • University exam fees up to ¥53,000; university mock exams up to ¥8,000; high-school mock exams up to ¥6,000. Only fees paid and exams taken in the same fiscal year; transfer fees excluded. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Phone / counter phrases

すみません、大学等受験料・模擬試験料助成について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。

Hello. I would like to ask about "大学等受験料・模擬試験料助成". Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?

すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。

Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.

Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?

Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.