NationalChildren & family
Child Allowance
児童手当 (jidō teate)
In short: Monthly allowance for people raising children up to the end of the high-school age year.Paid to the person raising a child from age 0 until the first March 31 after the child turns 18.(Source: www.cfa.go.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)
Validity: Current as of 2026-10-15 (FY2026 / Reiwa 8); source page live on that date. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.cfa.go.jp/policies/kokoseido/jidouteate/annai
Who qualifies
- Paid to the person raising a child from age 0 until the first March 31 after the child turns 18. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- In principle the child must live in Japan (some exceptions for study abroad). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Conditions by topic
| Age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
|---|---|
| Income | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Household | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Child age | Child from age 0 until the first March 31 after turning 18. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Residence in Japan | In principle the child must live in Japan. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Residence in Tokyo / municipality | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Work / insurance type | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Disability | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
Residence status
Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.
Where to apply
- Municipal (city/ward) office of your current address. Public servants apply through their employer. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Find addresses in the office finder.
Deadlines
- Apply within 15 days from the day after the birth, at the municipality of your current address. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- After moving to a new municipality, apply there within 15 days from the day after the (planned) move-out date. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- Payment normally starts from the month after application; late applications generally lose the missed months. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Documents
- Application (認定請求書). Employees: e.g. My Number Card registered as health insurance card, or health insurance qualification certificate / pension enrollment proof. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- If you were not registered in your current municipality on January 1 of the relevant year: an income certificate for child allowance from your previous municipality. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- Other documents may be requested, e.g. bank account details in the applicant's name. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Key details
- Monthly amount per child: ¥15,000 under age 3; ¥10,000 from age 3 through high-school age; ¥30,000 for the third child onward. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- Paid in even-numbered months (Feb, Apr, Jun, Aug, Oct, Dec), each covering the previous two months. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Phone / counter phrases
すみません、児童手当の手続きについて伺いたいのですが、何を持っていけばよいですか。
Sumimasen, jidō teate no tetsuzuki ni tsuite ukagaitai no desu ga, nani o motte ikeba yoi desu ka.
Hello. I would like to ask about the procedure for the Child Allowance. What documents should I bring?
すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。
Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.
Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?
Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.