Gaijin Residents

Research tool only — not legal advice. Information may be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with the responsible office before acting. Full disclaimer · Report an error

NationalWork

Education and Training Benefit (employment insurance)

教育訓練給付金

In short: Employment insurance refunds part of the fees for government-designated courses: 20% (general), 40–50% or more (specified / professional).Current or former employment insurance members meeting conditions, taking a course designated by the Minister. Professional courses need 3+ years of insurance, and leavers must start within 1 year of leaving.(Source: www.hellowork.mhlw.go.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)

Validity: Hello Work page checked 2026-10-15. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.hellowork.mhlw.go.jp/insurance/insurance_education.html

Not yet confirmed — check with the office:
  • Insurance period for general courses — confirm on page.
  • Residence-status rule — not stated on source; confirm with office.

Who qualifies

  • Current or former employment insurance members meeting conditions, taking a course designated by the Minister. Professional courses need 3+ years of insurance, and leavers must start within 1 year of leaving. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Conditions by topic

AgeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
IncomeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
HouseholdNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Child ageNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in JapanNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in Tokyo / municipalityNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Work / insurance type

Current or former employment insurance member. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

DisabilityNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.

Residence status

Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.

Where to apply

Find addresses in the office finder.

Deadlines

Not yet verified from an official source.

Documents

Not yet verified from an official source.

Key details

  • General: 20% of fees, max ¥100,000. Specified general: 40%, max ¥200,000. Professional: 50% (max ¥400,000/yr), up to 80% (max ¥640,000/yr) if you get the qualification, are employed and wages rise 5%+. Not paid if under ¥4,000. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
  • Not paid if you received an education training benefit within 3 years before the course start. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Phone / counter phrases

すみません、教育訓練給付金について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。

Hello. I would like to ask about the education and training benefit. Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?

すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。

Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.

Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?

Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.