Gaijin Residents

Research tool only — not legal advice. Information may be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with the responsible office before acting. Full disclaimer · Report an error

NationalDisability

Independence Support Medical Care

自立支援医療(精神通院・更生医療・育成医療)

In short: Reduces medical co-pays (in principle to 10%, with an income-based monthly cap) for ongoing outpatient mental-health care and for treatment that reduces a physical disability.Outpatient psychiatric care: people with a mental illness (e.g. schizophrenia, including epilepsy) needing ongoing outpatient care. Rehabilitation care (18+): holders of a physical disability certificate whose surgery etc. is expected to reduce the disability. Upbringing care (under 18): children with a physical disability, same condition.(Source: www.mhlw.go.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)

Validity: MHLW overview checked 2026-10-15. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.mhlw.go.jp/bunya/shougaihoken/jiritsu/gaiyo.html

Not yet confirmed — check with the office:
  • Exact cap table by income tier — not recorded.
  • Documents — confirm with ward.
  • Residence-status rule — not stated on source; confirm with office.

Who qualifies

  • Outpatient psychiatric care: people with a mental illness (e.g. schizophrenia, including epilepsy) needing ongoing outpatient care. Rehabilitation care (18+): holders of a physical disability certificate whose surgery etc. is expected to reduce the disability. Upbringing care (under 18): children with a physical disability, same condition. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Conditions by topic

AgeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Income

Monthly cap depends on household municipal tax. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

HouseholdNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Child ageNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in JapanNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in Tokyo / municipalityNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Work / insurance typeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Disability

Mental illness needing ongoing outpatient care, or a physical disability treatable by surgery etc. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Residence status

Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.

Where to apply

  • Rehabilitation and upbringing care are run by municipalities; outpatient psychiatric care by prefectures / designated cities. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Find addresses in the office finder.

Deadlines

Not yet verified from an official source.

Documents

Not yet verified from an official source.

Key details

  • A monthly co-pay cap is set by income; if 10% of the month's medical costs is lower, you pay 10%. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Phone / counter phrases

すみません、自立支援医療について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。

Hello. I would like to ask about independence support medical care (jiritsu shien iryō). Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?

すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。

Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.

Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?

Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.