Gaijin Residents

Research tool only — not legal advice. Information may be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with the responsible office before acting. Full disclaimer · Report an error

Minato CityDisability

Minato City Driving Licence Cost Subsidy (disability)

自動車運転免許取得費の助成

In short: Up to ¥164,800 toward driving school costs for people with disabilities.Lived in Minato 3+ months continuously; prior-year income tax ≤ ¥400,000; disability criteria on page.(Source: www.city.minato.tokyo.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)

Validity: Current per Minato City official page read in full 2026-10-15. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.city.minato.tokyo.jp/kenko/fukushi/shogaisha/shakaisanka/j-shutoku.html

Not yet confirmed — check with the office:
  • Disability grades that qualify — see page.

Who qualifies

  • Lived in Minato 3+ months continuously; prior-year income tax ≤ ¥400,000; disability criteria on page. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Conditions by topic

AgeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Income

Income tax ≤ ¥400,000. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

HouseholdNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Child ageNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in JapanNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Residence in Tokyo / municipality

Registered as a resident of Minato City (see page for timing). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Work / insurance typeNot stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office.
Disability

Disability. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Residence status

Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.

Residence status is not stated on the official page — ask the office.

Where to apply

  • Apply to Minato City (see the official page for the counter and online options). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Find addresses in the office finder.

Deadlines

  • Apply before entering the driving school. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Documents

Not yet verified from an official source.

Key details

  • Up to ¥164,800 depending on prior-year income tax. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]

Phone / counter phrases

すみません、自動車運転免許取得費の助成について伺いたいのですが、対象になるか、何を持っていけばよいか教えていただけますか。

Hello. I would like to ask about "自動車運転免許取得費の助成". Am I eligible, and what documents should I bring?

すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。

Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.

Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?

Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.