NationalPension
Pension Lump-sum Withdrawal Payment
脱退一時金 (dattai ichijikin)
In short: Non-Japanese who leave Japan after short pension coverage can claim part of their contributions back.For non-Japanese who leave Japan after short coverage under National Pension or Employees' Pension Insurance, and are no longer covered.(Source: www.nenkin.go.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)
Validity: Current as of 2026-10-15 (FY2026 / Reiwa 8); source page live on that date. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.nenkin.go.jp/international/japanese-system/withdrawalpayment/payment.html
- Employees' Pension amount example (depends on salary)
Who qualifies
- For non-Japanese who leave Japan after short coverage under National Pension or Employees' Pension Insurance, and are no longer covered. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- Requirements (National Pension): not a Japanese national; not insured under public pension; 6+ months of paid contributions (unpaid months do not count); under the 10-year eligibility; never entitled to a pension such as disability; no address in Japan. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- Employees' Pension: similar requirements with 6+ months of coverage. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Conditions by topic
| Age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
|---|---|
| Income | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Household | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Child age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Japan | No longer has an address in Japan; claim within 2 years. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Residence in Tokyo / municipality | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Work / insurance type | 6+ months of paid National Pension contributions or 6+ months of Employees' Pension coverage; less than 10 years total. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Disability | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
Residence status
Any non-Japanese national (other conditions apply).
Must not be a Japanese national, among other requirements.
[official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Where to apply
- Japan Pension Service. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Find addresses in the office finder.
Deadlines
- Within 2 years of no longer having an address in Japan (after losing coverage). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Documents
- Official application form with multilingual instructions (English/Japanese and 13 other languages) published by Japan Pension Service. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Key details
- National Pension amounts if your last payment was in FY2026: ¥53,760 (6–11 months) up to ¥537,600 (60+ months). Maximum counted months: 60 (36 if last payment before April 2021). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Phone / counter phrases
すみません、脱退一時金の手続きについて伺いたいのですが、何を持っていけばよいですか。
Sumimasen, dattai ichijikin no tetsuzuki ni tsuite ukagaitai no desu ga, nani o motte ikeba yoi desu ka.
Hello. I would like to ask about the procedure for the lump-sum withdrawal payment. What documents should I bring?
すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。
Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.
Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?
Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.