TokyoChildren & family
Tokyo Child Rearing Allowance (Ikusei Teate)
児童育成手当(育成手当)
In short: A Tokyo-system allowance for single-parent households raising children, run by each ward/city under its own ordinance. Apply at your ward or city office.Paid to people raising children in single-parent households (ikusei teate) or children with disabilities (shōgai teate); a Tokyo system implemented by each municipality by ordinance.(Source: www.fukushi.metro.tokyo.lg.jp, verified on 2026-10-15)
Validity: FY2026 (Reiwa 8) amount and income limits as published by Taito City for applications May 2026–Apr 2027. Verified on 2026-10-15. Official source: https://www.fukushi.metro.tokyo.lg.jp/kodomo/kosodate/teate/zidouikuseiteate
- Exact qualifying household situations (beyond "single-parent") — list from your ward page.
- Disability allowance (shōgai teate) amount and conditions — not yet recorded.
- Required documents — not stated on the Tokyo page; confirm with ward.
- Residence-status rule — not stated.
Who qualifies
- Paid to people raising children in single-parent households (ikusei teate) or children with disabilities (shōgai teate); a Tokyo system implemented by each municipality by ordinance. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- Children up to the first 31 March after turning 18. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Conditions by topic
| Age | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
|---|---|
| Income | FY2026 income limit (applicant, 2025 income): ¥3,838,000 with 0 dependants; ¥4,218,000 with 1; ¥4,598,000 with 2; ¥4,978,000 with 3 (Taito City table). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Household | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Child age | Child up to the first 31 March after turning 18. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Residence in Japan | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Residence in Tokyo / municipality | Lives in a Tokyo municipality; apply where you live. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15] |
| Work / insurance type | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
| Disability | Not stated in the sources we checked — confirm with the office. |
Residence status
Not stated in the official sources we checked — unknown.
Where to apply
- Apply at the office of the municipality where you live. [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Find addresses in the office finder.
Deadlines
- Payment starts from the month after the application month, so earlier application matters (Taito City). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Documents
Not yet verified from an official source.
Key details
- ¥13,500 per child per month (amount published by Taito City). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
- Paid three times a year (February, June, October), for the months starting the month after you apply (Taito City). [official source · verified on 2026-10-15]
Phone / counter phrases
すみません、児童育成手当の申請について伺いたいのですが、何を持っていけばよいですか。
Hello. I would like to ask about applying for the Child Rearing Allowance (ikusei teate). What documents should I bring?
すみません、もう少しゆっくり話していただけますか。
Sumimasen, mō sukoshi yukkuri hanashite itadakemasu ka.
Sorry, could you please speak a little more slowly?
Generic phrases for practical help, not official wording.